Southeast Region

Counties:  Baca, Bent, Crowley, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo

Cities:  La Junta, Lamar, Pueblo, Trinidad, Walsenburg

The Southeast Council remains flexible with its funding to meet the needs of the population. In the past year, the Council has focused on supporting youth development through multi-year commitments to the Colorado State Patrol’s “Alive at 25” safe driving program, the 16th Judicial District’s truancy program, and the Boys and Girls Clubs of Pueblo County’s workforce development program. The Council also continued its commitment to the youth of Prowers County by funding the use of a consultant to develop capacity for afterschool programming through Project HOPE in Lamar.

Council Member Log In Southeast-Pinon Valley.jpg

Meet Our Regional Council Members

William J. Hybl is Executive Chairman of El Pomar Foundation. Hybl has also been engaged in a variety of public service activities. He is a Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army (Senior). In 2008, Hybl was confirmed by the United States Senate as Chairman of the U.S. Commission on Public Diplomacy, a position he was appointed to by President George W. Bush. He was reappointed by President Barack Obama June 1, 2011, and currently serves as Vice Chairman. In 2001, President George W. Bush appointed Hybl as U.S. Representative to the 56th General Assembly of the United Nations.

In addition, Hybl was Chairman of the Board of the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) from 2003-2009 and currently serves as Chairman Emeritus. He is Chairman of the United States Olympic Endowment having served as President during four Olympic Games. He was named Citizen of the West by the National Western Stock Show of Denver in 2003.

Hybl is a graduate of Colorado College and earned his juris doctor at the University of Colorado School of Law. He was elected to the Colorado House of Representatives in 1972 and was Special Counsel to President Ronald Reagan in 1981. He is married to Kathleen Horrigan and they have two sons, B.J and Kyle, and six grandchildren.

William J. Hybl

Executive Chairman, El Pomar Foundation

Dennis Maes sits on the District 60 Board of Education and is the former Chief Judge of the 10th Judicial District. Prior to his appointment to the bench, he was Director of the Pueblo County Legal Services and a Deputy State Public Defender. He was a past member of the Pueblo Regional Planning Commission and the Board of Directors for Eastside Child Care Center.

Dennis received his undergraduate degree from Southern Colorado State College and his law degree from the University of Colorado.

The Honorable Dennis Maes

Trustee Emeritus, El Pomar Foundation

Melanie Bravo joined Caring for Colorado Foundation as Senior Program Officer in September 2018. Before joining the Foundation, Melanie worked as Director of Organizational Development for Boys & Girls Clubs of America where she provided consultative services and partnered with member organizations to build their organizational capacity and sustainability. She was President & CEO of Boys & Girls Clubs of Pueblo County prior to working for the national organization. Previously, Melanie served as Director of Programs at El Pomar Foundation. In this role, she worked on the Foundation’s regional grant making and leadership development programs.

Melanie was born and raised in Pueblo, Colo., and received a bachelor’s degree from the University of New Mexico

Melanie Bravo

Senior program officer, Caring for Colorado Foundation

Gina M. Cimino is President and Broker for Kip Hampden Properties. She also serves as President and Treasurer of the Board for Mt. Carmel Center of Excellence, which serves Las Animas County and El Paso County. Gina spent 18 years in the advertising industry as a media buyer, account executive and was later appointed Vice President of Graham Advertising. She has served various organizations including the National Charity League, Newborn Hope, Boys & Girls Club, Care and Share, National Cancer Society, St. Paul Catholic Church, Pauline Memorial Catholic School and St. Mary’s High School. Gina is a Colorado native and is a graduate of the University of Colorado Colorado Springs.

Gina Cimino

President Mt. Carmel Health, Wellness and Community Center

Kim MacDonnell is serving her first term as a Bent County Commissioner. She has a background in economic development and office management. Kim seeks ways to bring together individuals, non-profits, governmental entities and civic organizations to address the challenges faced by rural Colorado. She serves on a number of boards and is committed to promoting programs and initiatives that strengthen both the local and the greater community.

Kim MacDonnell

County Commissioner, Bent County

Rod Slyhoff is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Greater Pueblo Chamber of Commerce and currently resides in Pueblo. Prior to becoming president and chief executive officer in 1994, he held the positions of vice president of membership, small business development membership director, and account representative. Rod has also served as President of the Colorado Chamber of Commerce Executives.

Rod Slyhoff

President and CEO, Greater Pueblo Chamber of Commerce

Senior Staff, Southeast Region

Contact Chris:

Chris Sohn

Chief of Staff to the Chairman

Contact MacKenzie:

MacKenzie Mantsch

Program Associate, El Pomar Foundation

Contact Shelby:

Shelby Morgan

Program Associate, El Pomar Foundation