Northeast Region

Counties:  Cheyenne, Kit Carson, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Yuma 

Cities:  Burlington, Fort Morgan, Limon, Sterling, Julesburg

The Northeast Council works in the focus area of post-secondary workforce readiness. In 2020, the Council made grants to the Northeast Colorado Postsecondary and Workforce Readiness Partnership (NECOPWR), the Northeastern Colorado Student to Career Opportunity Initiative program (STCO) through Sedgwick County Economic Development Corporation, and the Homegrown Talent Initiative in Holyoke School District. The goal of these programs is to help students and their families make informed life decisions through meaningful career conversations and exploration.

Council Member Log In Limon wind turbine cropped.jpg

Meet Our Regional Council Members

Matt Carpenter is Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer, and Corporate Secretary for El Pomar Foundation. He joined El Pomar in 1999 as a participant in the Fellowship program and now oversees the grants office and program operations. He currently serves as Chair of the Board of Philanthropy Southwest.

Matt is a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy with a bachelor's degree in political science and earned a master's degree in public administration from the University of Colorado Springs, with an emphasis on nonprofit management.

Matt Carpenter

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, El Pomar Foundation

A lifetime resident of Colorado, Tim Travis has been the President and Chief Executive Officer for Eaton Metal Products and Eaton Sales and Service since 1981. Tim currently serves numerous nonprofit boards statewide including the Board of Directors for the University of Colorado Health System, CoBiz Financial, the National Western Stock Show and Raffles Insurance Co. Ltd.

Tim Travis

Trustee Emeritus, El Pomar Foundation

Jon Becker is Morgan County Commissioner. Jon previously served in the Colorado House of Representatives, representing House District 63. Jon is a native of Morgan County where he worked as Executive Director for the Morgan County Economic Development Corporation as an adjuster for Farmers Insurance Group. Jon formerly worked as the Vice President of Business and Government for Viaero Wireless and currently serves as President of Industrial Tower and Communications

Jon Becker

Morgan County Commissioner & President of Industrial Tower Communications

Born and raised in Northeast Colorado, Justin Coughlin spent the majority of his childhood in Yuma. He attended the University of Denver where he received a degree in finance and played basketball all four years. After graduating from DU, Justin joined the El Pomar Fellowship in Colorado Springs for two years. He married his high school sweetheart during the Fellowship and returned to Northeast Colorado in 2014 to be an agricultural lender at Bank of Colorado. In March of 2018, Justin and his family moved back home to Yuma where he now works for Seward Farms Seward Cattle Company in a finance and accounting role. Justin and his wife, Katherine, enjoy being back in Yuma with their two sons ages three and one.

Justin Coughlin

Seward Farms Seward Cattle Company

Jean Johnson and her husband Scott own and operate The Flying Diamond Ranch near Kit Carson. This commercial cow-calf/stocker operation has been in the family over 100 years and Jean and Scott have expanded the business which now operates in Colorado, Kansas and Nebraska. They raised four, fifth generation children in Kit Carson who are all involved with the business at some level.
Jean currently serves on the Colorado State University Dean's AgIndustry Leadership Council and is an officer for the Cheyenne County Cattlewomen. She served 14 years on the Kit Carson School Board and two years on the Cheyenne County Hospital Board.

Jean Johnson

Owner, Flying Diamond Ranch

Karen Loyd is a registered nurse, and has served the Wray community in a variety of ways over the past 32 years. Karen’s husband, Dr. Robert Loyd, is a third-generation native of Wray. She is a founding Board Member of the Wray Community Learning Center. The Loyds act as Trustees of the Kitzmiller/Bales Trust and the Powell Trust, philanthropic trusts serving Eastern Yuma County.
Karen is currently a member of Caring for Colorado Board of Directors.

Karen Loyd

Trauma Nurse, Wray Community District Hospital

Anna Scott is from Julesburg, Colorado. She is the President of the Hippodrome Arts Centre, the Director of the "South Platte River Trail" a Colorado Scenic and Historic Byway and the Executive Director of the Ernest and Lillian E. Campbell Foundation. In 2004, Anna was awarded the statewide Colorado Nonprofit Association William Funk Award. Anna and her husband, Randy, raise Black Simmental Cattle and grow corn, wheat and alfalfa.

Anna Scott

Executive Director, Ernest and Lillian E. Campbell Foundation

Contact Mike:

Mike Buth

Vice President of Facilities, El Pomar Foundation

Contact Matt:

Matt Clarke

Program Director, El Pomar Foundation

Contact Dylan:

Dylan Craddock

Program Associate, El Pomar Foundation