Central Peaks Region

Counties:  Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Park

Cities: Buena Vista, Canon City, Fairplay, Salida, Westcliffe

In 2018, the Central Peaks Council convened community leaders to identify and prioritize regional challenges and opportunities. From this initial meeting, the lack of affordable housing emerged as a central concern, which led the Council to host an affordable housing summit to better understand the issue. Since 2018, the Council has granted a total of $210,000 to pursue creative housing projects including a rental deposit assistance program, infrastructure in a sweat-equity subdivision, attainable housing development projects and the establishment of a county housing authority.

Council Member Log In Central Peaks-Royal Gorge.jpg

Meet Our Regional Council Members

Kyle Hybl currently serves as President and Chief Executive Officer for El Pomar Foundation and General Counsel for The Garden City Company. He joined El Pomar Foundation in 2000, and served as Chief Operating Officer from 2013 – 2019. Kyle is Chairman Emeritus of the University of Colorado System, a board he served on from 2007-2018. In 2018, Kyle was appointed as a member of the Air Force Civic Leaders Program. Kyle currently serves as Chairman of Police Foundation of Colorado Springs and Corporate Secretary for Junior Achievement, USA. He also serves on the Boards of Directors for American Council of Young Political Leaders, Broadmoor World Arena, Employers Council, Exponential Impact and National Cybersecurity Center.

Kyle earned bachelor's and juris doctor degrees from the University of Colorado, Boulder. He is a former Air Force Captain and Judge Advocate.

Kyle H. Hybl

President and Chief Executive Officer, El Pomar Foundation

Jim Little is retired editor and publisher of the Westcliffe Wet Mountain Tribune, a weekly newspaper serving Custer County. He has long been involved in numerous local and regional nonprofit organizations. He was a founding member and past chair of the Wet Mountain Valley Community Foundation, and also served as chair of the West Custer County Library District. He currently serves as a board member and volunteer for other nonprofits. He's a fifth generation native of Colorado and has lived in Wetmore since 1975.

Jim Little

Former Owner and Publisher, Wet Mountain Tribune

Judy Lohnes served 41 years with the Upper Arkansas Area Council of Governments in Cañon City, including 27 years as the Executive Director, Judy retired in March of 2020. During her tenure she has led numerous collaborative efforts in human services throughout Fremont, Chaffee, Lake and Custer counties. She recently facilitated a regional broadband strategic plan process for a five-county region and is an active convener of four industry sector partnerships. In addition to her professional efforts Judy has served on numerous non-profit boards and will continue her many community based efforts in retirement.

Judy Lohnes

Former Executive Director, Upper Arkansas Area Council of Governments

F. Charles Schultz has lived in Park County near Fairplay since June 2001. After earning his bachelor's degree in architecture from Kansas State University, Charlie briefly worked for an architecture firm but quickly transitioned to building and general contracting. Charlie spent 34 years as a commercial general contractor in Kansas. Since moving to Park County, Charlie has been involved in the local community through his church, the school district, and the Salvation Army. He also served on the Board of South Park Health Service District as well as Chairperson of the Park County Planning Commission and the Board of Adjustment.

Charlie Schultz

Chairperson, Park County Planning Commission

Sheri is a certified executive coach through Hudson Institute of Coaching. Before her executive coaching practice, Sheri led the executive team at St. Thomas More Hospital in Cañon City as Chief Executive Officer, a position she held since 2013. She spent her entire 32-year career with Centura Health, having served in various roles since her start as a junior accountant at St. Joseph Hospital in 1986. Sheri is a Certified Public Accountant and a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. Active in the community, Sheri is a Board Member of the Cañon City Chamber of Commerce and a Board Member of Fremont’s Exceptional Women.

Sheri’s education includes a Bachelor of Science from the University of Southern Colorado (now Colorado State University-Pueblo) and a master’s degree in finance and accounting from Regis University.

Sheri Trahern

Certified Executive Coach, Hudson Institute of Coaching

Senior Staff, Central Peaks Regional Council

Contact Elaine:

Elaine Martinez

Chief Financial Officer, El Pomar Foundation

Contact Will:

Will Keyse

Program Associate, El Pomar Foundation