American Council

of Young Political Leaders

2018 Delegations

Japan – June

Argentina – August

Brazil - November

ACYPL - China with Mayor Hancock 11.17.jpg
ACYPL – China delegation with Mayor of Denver, Michael Hancock
ACYPL Secretary Williams.JPG
Secretary of State Wayne Williams with election exchange delegates from southern Africa.

Founded in 1993, El Pomar Foundation’s ACYPL program partners with the American Council of Young Political Leaders, a Washington, D.C.-based 501(c)(3), to host young emerging political leaders from around the world.

To date, the program has hosted 60 delegations from 40 countries to Colorado; and introduced over 450 international participants to all aspects of state and local government, policymaking, and politics as well as American culture.

Colorado's Contributing Leaders


Governor John Hickenlooper

Lt. Governor Joe Garcia

Former Secretary of State Scott Gessler

Colorado Springs Mayor John Suthers

Denver Mayor Michael Hancock

Congressman Mike Coffman

Attorney General Cynthia Coffman 

Congressman Doug Lamborn

Senate President Bill Cadman 

State Senator Michael Johnston

Former State Senator Greg Brophy


Former State Senator Ted Harvey

Former State Senator Josh Penry

Boulder County Treasurer Paul Weissmann

Lt. Gen. Michael Gould, USAF (Ret.)

University of Colorado Regent Chairman Kyle Hybl

Ambassador Richard Celeste 

Ambassador Christopher R. Hill

Gen. Gene Renuart, USAF (Ret.)

Gen. Charles Jacoby, USAF (Ret.)

Voices of the Fellowship Fellow Garrett Mayberry discusses his time working with the 2016 Southern Africa delegation
Capture ACYPL Russia.JPG
2015 Russian Delegation in Denver
2015 Discussions with Amb. Celeste