Return to Blog

Executive Chairman William J. Hybl Honored by Colorado Springs Sports Corporation

Tags: Stories of Impact

WJH Sports Corp.jpg
Hybl provides remarks at the Broadmoor World Arena

El Pomar Executive Chairman Honored at Colorado Springs Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2021 Induction Ceremony

By Will Keyse

On November 1, the Colorado Springs Sports Corporation hosted the 21st Annual Colorado Springs Sports Hall of Fame ceremony at Broadmoor World Arena. There were nine inductees honored at the event, which featured a silent auction and video tributes to each of the individuals and teams. Among the recipients was El Pomar Foundation’s Executive Chairman, William J. Hybl, who was presented with the 2021 Thayer Tutt Sportsman Award in honor of his lifelong support of professional and amateur sport in Colorado Springs.

In addition to having served more than 30 years as CEO of El Pomar Foundation, Chairman Hybl is President Emeritus of the United States Olympic Committee, having served twice as President from 1991-1992 and again from 1996-2000, and led the U.S. delegations in Albertville, France; Barcelona, Spain; Nagano, Japan and Sydney, Australia. Hybl also served on the International Olympic Committee from 2000-2002.

In the Colorado Springs community, among other initiatives, Hybl has provided support and guidance to the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb in honor of El Pomar founder Spencer Penrose, and oversaw the construction of the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Experience housed at Penrose Heritage Museum. El Pomar Vice Chairman and Chief Investment Officer, Thayer Tutt, presented Hybl with the award in honor of his late uncle, and the award’s namesake, William Thayer Tutt.

The ceremony represented the first since the passing of late Sports Corporation CEO, Tom Osborne, and included a moving video tribute to his life and legacy in addition to remarks from his wife, Amy, and current Sports Corporation CEO, Megan Leatham. 

The rest of the Class of 2021 included: Tom Osborne (the late CEO and President of Colorado Springs Sports Corporation), longtime Colorado College hockey coach Scott Owens, Colorado College hockey star Marty Sertich, Cheyenne Mountain High School tennis All-American Becky (Varnum) Bucolo, Fountain Fort Carson coach Art Hassler, Air Force football and wrestling star Terry Maki, the 1970 Air Force football team and Wasson/Coronado High School coach Doug Hugill.

To learn more about Chairman Hybl and each of the 2021 Hall of Fame inductees, visit